OHSAS 18001:2007 (Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems)

OHSAS 18001 is the sound solution to the ever increasing challenge facing most organisations due to high injury and illness, lost work days, increasing occupational health and safety regulations, large citations/penalties, rising workers compensation costs, costly medical claims, worker retention and employee satisfaction.

Real world operating experience shows workers compensation claims to be spiralling upward. Workers Compensation Medical claims have soared to a record 3.6 billion over the last decade. Traditional occupation health and safety management usually meant reacting to work related incidents rather than planning for the control of work related risks that compose OHSAS 18001:2007 certified organizations. Other costs facing organisations include, but are not limited to, investigation time, wages paid for lost time, clerical time, decreased output of the injured worker upon return and the loss of business and goodwill.

Organisations that have been the pioneers in attaining OHSAS 18001:2007 already report realised benefits of increased operational benefits, reduction in lost work days, fewer accidents and medical claims, recognition by insurers and regulars and improved worker retention and satisfaction. Employees have responded favourably to registered organisations overt commitment to continued occupation health and safety improvements. Enhanced employee awareness and individual commitment to occupational health and safety has served as the basis for positive organisational change.

Much of the improvement is attributed to employee education and awareness of safety issues and understanding. This increased awareness has been the key factor for OHSAS 18001 organisations saving in legal expenses, building damage, tool and equipment damage, product and material damage and production delays and interruptions.

Bottom line improvements for organisations that have a registered OH&S management system include efficient organisational discipline, employee awareness and satisfaction, recognition by insures, lower workers compensation and medical costs and increased control of regulatory issues.

The History of the OHSAS 18001 Standard

The OHSAS 18001 standard was developed to bridge the gap where no international standard existed for occupational health and safety. Development involved input from a number of leading bodies, including certifiers, trade bodies and expert consultancies.

The first version of the standard appeared in 1999 and was based on a number of existing standards (including BS8800:1996) that had been developed by the leading national certification bodies. The current version of the standard is OHSAS 18001:2007. This supersedes OHSAS 18001:1999, which is to be phased out by July 2009. Thereafter it will no longer be recognized.

Despite not being an ISO standard, OHSAS 18001 has been designed to be compatible with the ISO 9001:2008 (QMS) and ISO 14001:2004 (EMS), thus helping organizations to achieve an integrated management strategy.

What Would You Get?
  • Healthy & Safe Working Environment
  • Risk Minimization
  • Continual Improvement of organizational performance
  • Pro-Active Approach
  • Competitive Advantages
  • Improved Communications, morale and job satisfaction
  • Help staying in compliance with legal requirements
  • Diligence Demonstration & Gain Assurance
  • Improve Overall Performance

Why DAS ?

With a blend of highly competent system tutors, assessors and technical expertise, DAS Certification, all around the globe, provides the confidence that organizations are implementing Healthy and Safe working environment prioritizing ZERO-ACCIDENT / INJURY FREE work practices by systematically identifying, assessing, controlling and mitigating/eliminating the workplace hazards and associated risks with compliance to industrial, legal, regulatory and/or international standards.

How we do ? Certification Mechanism
  • Enquiry Handling
  • Formal Application (Certification Scope)
  • Stage I Assessment / Audit
  • Stage II Assessment / Audit
  • Award of Certificate
  • Continuing Assessment through Surveillance Audits
  • Renewal of Certificate / Recertification

For Enquiries